CAF Awards: Moses snubbed in final shortlist; Rohr, Oshoala still in race - Sabi Tips


Sabi Tips

When the story is agog.....

H: +33°
L: +26°
Friday, 08 December
See 7-Day Forecast
Sat Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu
+32° +32° +31° +31° +30° +31°
+25° +24° +22° +29° +29° +29°

Post Top Ad


Post Top Ad


CAF Awards: Moses snubbed in final shortlist; Rohr, Oshoala still in race

Super Eagles star, Victor Moses has been dropped in the race for the 2017 African Footballer award as Egypt’s Mohamed Salah, Gabon’s Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang and Senegal’s Sadio Mane make final three.

Moses, who helped Chelsea lift the Premier League title last season, did not make the final shortlist which was unveiled on Monday at the Movenpick Hotel, Accra, Ghana.
The BBC version of the award announced Salah as the winner on December 11, as the Egyptian joins fellow natives, Mohamed Barakat (in 2005) and Mohamed Aboutrika (in 2008) to win the title.

Meanwhile, Super Eagles coach, Gernot Rohr made it to the final three in the Best Coach category, and will battle Egypt’s Hector Cuper and Wydad Casablanca’s L’Hussein Amoutta for the title.

Super Falcon, Asisat Oshoala, the reigning Women’s footballer, is also in the three-man shortlist for the women’s category of the CAF Awards.
And for the Team of the Year, Nigeria’s Super Eagles who became the first African team to seal qualification for the 2018 World Cup will be up against the Pharoahs of Egypt and the Indomitable Lions of Cameroon.

The winners of the awards will be announced in January in Accra, Ghana.

Nominees for Men’s Player of the Year (Men)
Mohamed Salah (Egypt)
Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang (Gabon)
Sadio Mane (Senegal)

Nominees for Women’s Player of the Year:
Asisat Oshoala (Nigeria)
Chrestina Kgatlana (South Africa)
Gabrielle Aboudi Onguene (Cameroon)

Nominees for Youth Player of the Year:
Kreptin Diatta (Senegal)
Patson Daka (Zambia)
Salam Giddou (Mali)

Nominees for National Team of the Year (Men)

Nominees for Club of the Year:
Al Ahly (Egypt)
TP Mzembe (DR Congo)
Wydad Casablanca (Morocco)

Nominees for Coach of the Year (Men)
Gernot Rohr (Nigeria)
Hector Cuper (Egypt)
L’Hussein Amoutta (Wydad Casablanca)

Nominees for the Women’s national team of the year:
Ghana U20
Nigeria U20
South Africa

No comments:

Post a Comment

Post Top Ad